Skip to Content

Full-time Negotiators


Phil Kraychuk

Email Phil Kraychuk
Phil joined UFCW Local 832 in 2010 after working for Safe Workers of Tomorrow for over four years. As an instructor and educator, Phil has made hundreds of presentations to high school students entering the workforce on their rights for a safe work environment. Phil has presented on Health and Safety levels 1 & 2, WHMIS, and WCB levels 1. During the Summer of 2010 Phil was a relief representative for the WCB and Health and Safety departments at the local. Phil was a member of Local 832 while attending high school as a part-time employee at the Superstore on McPhillips. A dedicated activist for worker’s rights, Phil is wrapping up his Occupational Health and Safety diploma from Red River College in the summer of 2011.

Sonia Taylor

Email Sonia Taylor
Sonia was originally hired as a full-time union representative with Local 832 in 1991. For the following three years, she assisted both retail and industrial members in Brandon and other Westman communities. She was transferred to the UFCW Winnipeg office in January, 1994. Prior to joining the staff of Local 832, she worked for Safeway. During that time, she served as a shop steward and was active on both the negotiations and safety and health committees. She was elected to the union’s Advisory Board in 1985, and served as Chair of the education committee for the Brandon and District Labour Council. Sonia has gained extensive experience assisting members in a wide range of workplaces. In 2016, Sonia moved full-time into the Negotiations Department.

Blake Crothers

Email Blake Crothers
Blake spent a number of years in Sudbury Ontario working for the Retail, Wholesale Department Store Union (RWDSU) as a Special Projects Representative. In 2005 Blake was hired as the Communications Director for the Local 832 producing the bi-monthly magazine, assisting reps with communication tools, maintained the website and dealt with media inquiries. In 2016, Blake moved into the Negotiations Department and is responsible for the majority of Industrial and warehousing collective agreements.
Back to top